News & Events

11 More States and the District of Columbia Increase Minimum Wage Requirements

As of January 1, 2015, twenty-nine states have minimum wage requirements higher than the federal-mandated $7.25 per hour. Ten states – Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Rhode Island, Vermont, and West Virginia – along with the District of Columbia increased their minimum wage effective January 1, 2015. New York raised its minimum wage on [..]

Read More

United States District Court Partially Vacates U.S. DOL’s Rule on “Companionship” Exemption

In a December 22, 2014 decision, the United States District Court for the District of Columbia vacated a provision of the Department of Labor’s new regulations relating to overtime and minimum wage payments for domestic service workers who previously fell under the “companionship” exemption. The regulation, originally scheduled to go into effect January 1, 2015, [..]

Read More